Marshall Islands signs IRENA’s statute

24 June 2010| Articles

Marshall Islands representative signed IRENA’s statute today, in Abu Dhabi. Member States were gathered in the Capital of the United Arab Emirates for the Administrative Committee of the International Renewable Energy Agency.

All United Nations’ members can join the Agency. As of date, 147 countries and the European Union have signed IRENA’s mandate. 26 countries have already ratified its treaty. As of July 8, IRENA will be a fully fledged international organization.

Hélène Pelosse, Interim Director General of IRENA says: “Small Islands are usually heavily dependent on oil importation and access to electricity is often an issue to some remote places. This is one topic IRENA has started to work on, delivering the Off Grid part of the Tonga 2010-2020 Energy Roadmap”.

Headquartered in Abu Dhabi, IRENA is aiming to become the global voice for renewable energy, while promoting a swift transition towards its sustainable use. IRENA is assisting its Member States define their strategy across the fields of all renewable energies: bioenergy, geothermal, hydropower, ocean, solar and wind.