Launch of the Global Atlas Mobile Application

16 June 2015 | Innovation


On 16 June, IRENA is releasing the Global Atlas pocket, an app that enables anyone with a smart phone to prospect for renewable energy projects anywhere on the planet, for free. It is the most advanced tool of its kind, and allows any mobile device to be turned into a prospecting tool for renewable energy opportunities. The pocket helps answer questions like, can geothermal energy power this island? What percentage of this city can be powered by solar energy? If I want to invest in a wind power project, where are the highest potential locations?

Media webinar – 16 June, 2015, 6PM GST / 4PM CEST / 3PM BST / 10AM EDT - Those who register will receive an embargoed copy of the news release on 15 June.

The webinar is geared specifically to media and communication professionals. In it, you will hear from a broad range of experts on this topic and learn more about this new mobile tool.

Speakers: - Tim Hurst, Head of Communication, International Renewable Energy Agency - Barbara Ryan, Secretariat Director, Group on Earth Observations - Jeffrey Harris, Chairman of the Board of Directors, Open Geospatial Consortium - Maxx Dilley, Director, Climate Prediction and Adaptation Branch, Climate and Water Department, World Meteorological Organisation - Chris Corsi, Regional Director for the Middle East, BlackBerry - Michael Mansour, Director, Developer Platforms & Technologies, Microsoft